PDA

View Full Version : Bell Sweep R helmet?

BdaGhisallo
05-19-2005, 07:31 AM
Anyone using one of these new lids? I have been using a Giro Atmos for about 9 months but already the pads are disintegrating and it's proving nigh on impossible to get replacement ones.

How does the sweepR compare? I certainly like the lower cost.

Thanks.

Bruce K
05-19-2005, 08:59 AM
I tried one on the other day at the LBS.

All the little points on the back looked strange and I would have some reservations about cervical injury in a crash if they were to hang up on something.

On the other hand, it was a comfortable fit and it IS pretty cool looking.

BK

92degrees
05-19-2005, 09:20 AM
I received one for my birthday last month. I like it very much compared to the Giro I used to wear. It's very light, good ventilation, adjusts to be extremely comfortable, and is nicely finished.

OTOH, there is a little peak on the front of the helmet that extends into my field of vision and it's a little weird -- I'm sure I'll get used to it and won't notice it eventually. The padding at the front is split in the middle and sweat tends to find it's way down my forhead there. Finally, the adjustment dial works well when it's off the head, but I can't get the helmet tighter while riding -- must adjust before it's on my head.

Overall, I'm extremely pleased.

Ozz
05-19-2005, 10:45 AM
check out the Limar F111's....I've had one for a year and it is pretty nice. Good fit, easy adjustment. I paid $150, but I recently saw them on online somewhere for about $80.....don't remember the site, sorry.

bulliedawg
05-19-2005, 11:56 AM
OTOH, there is a little peak on the front of the helmet that extends into my field of vision and it's a little weird -- I'm sure I'll get used to it and won't notice it eventually.