PDA

View Full Version : O.T. 'winter training' martial arts anyone?

Dekonick
01-30-2011, 06:51 PM
I think I found something fun for just about anyone! Stick fighting!

Ahem... William... any good sources for Escrima sticks? :hello:

Be wary Mr. Squirrel... be wary, wary quiet... (couldn't resist)

dogdriver
01-30-2011, 07:20 PM
Be sure to wear gloves!

Movie trivia test:

"Actually, I'm training to be a cage fighter"...

Chris
01-30-2011, 07:26 PM
Be sure to wear gloves!

Movie trivia test:

Shaahh...Lucky!

rugbysecondrow
01-30-2011, 07:30 PM
Be sure to wear gloves!

Movie trivia test:

Napoleon Dynamite, not to be confused J.J., DY-NO-MITE!!!!!!

dogdriver
01-30-2011, 07:53 PM
Napoleon Dynamite, not to be confused J.J., DY-NO-MITE!!!!!!

Nice.

David Kirk
01-30-2011, 07:59 PM
I studied 3 days a week for about 6 years and I've never been more fit than that. I'm working on myself again to get where I need to be to jump back in and not hurt myself.

go for it - you'll have a ball and have a lot to show for it.

Dave

Dlevy05
01-30-2011, 08:12 PM
I participate in Krav Maga. It, like other martial arts, is a great way to keep your body in "relative" shape (to itself) - if that makes any sense.

William
01-31-2011, 06:53 AM
Hey Deko,

Kali/Eskrima/Arnis! Absolutely it can be a great workout! FMA’s (Filipino martial Arts) is mostly recognized by outsiders by the sticks but it’s a complete MA covering open hand, ground fighting, edged, and impact weaponry. Like anything it’s all in how you approach it. Some folks just teach the stick aspect through flow drills, others get more in-depth and cover all aspects of the systems. It certainly is fun and can get you into great shape. Even the basic footwork and striking mechanic drills I have my students do at the beginning of every class will get everyone breathing hard and sweating like pigs before we get to the more technical aspects.