PDA

View Full Version : Do you recognize anything in this picture?

Louis
01-23-2011, 01:59 PM
This is from the label of a NOS Cinelli bar tape blister pack I've had for a while.

I'm not good at recognizing racers, but I have heard about the "Serotta Huffys" used by 7-11. Might this have been one of them? Pink jersey suggests the Giro, but I'm not sure who the rider is.

robin3mj
01-23-2011, 02:08 PM
Hampsten

Dave Wages
01-23-2011, 02:10 PM
That happens to be the only American to ever win the Giro, Andy Hampsten. As for the bike, it might have been a Serotta, but could very well have been a Landshark, I know he built some of Hampsten's personal bikes.

Cheers,
Dave

rydesteel
01-23-2011, 02:11 PM
Andy Hampsten, Huffy by Landshark. I gave Douglas a roll of that for the Hello Kitty bike but it was still in the package on the wall last time I was out there. You still getting hammered with snow? I think you had more on the ground than we did for a while.

Frank

Louis
01-23-2011, 02:40 PM
Andy Hampsten, Huffy by Landshark. I gave Douglas a roll of that for the Hello Kitty bike but it was still in the package on the wall last time I was out there. You still getting hammered with snow? I think you had more on the ground than we did for a while.

Hi Frank,

I figured it might be Hampsten, but I don't know him well enough to recognize him. Thanks. I've had the tape itself sitting on the shelf for a while and have been meaning to use it for my daily driver, but it takes only 10 seconds to add more electrical tape to patch the current stuff...

I had 7" on the ground from the Wednesday night snow and we got another half inch or so earlier today. It usually doesn't last too long around here, but based on the forecast I'd say we'll have it until the end of the week. At least the lows are now out of the single digits.

Stay warm.

Louis

FlashUNC
01-23-2011, 02:53 PM
Good Lord Oakley used to make some goggles.

Blue Jays
01-23-2011, 03:03 PM