PDA

View Full Version : Chris King headset: is this normal?

Bob Ross
01-06-2011, 08:50 PM
Wife's brand new bike arrived today. It has a Chris King Sotto Voce No-threadset, and an Easton SL-something fork. When I unpacked it from the shipping container -- and fwiw it appeared to be packed extremely well -- I noticed the top portion of the headset (the part that the spacers rest upon) was sitting about an inch above the top headtube bearing race (or whatever-the-heck the other part of that King headset that presumably mates with this is called). See pic:

http://img718.imageshack.us/img718/3484/betsyheadset.jpg

That baby is on there pretty tight. I'm no mechanic, but it seems like it's stuck. Definitely would take an inordinate amount of force to get this to slide down the steerer tube to sit on top of its mate.

But since this is only the second time in my life that I've assembled a threadless stem & King headset, I'm more than willing to believe that I'm simply overlooking something obvious that's supposed to get done to this.

Stem obviously doesn't fit on the steerer tube with this piece up in this elevated position.

Any ideas? My wife wants to ride her new bike!

Thanks.

akelman
01-06-2011, 09:03 PM
I'm not there, so I can't know what you mean by an inordinate amount of force, but it often takes some serious doing to get that race down where it belongs.

akelman
01-06-2011, 09:04 PM
That said, that's not a Sotto Voce CK. Not that it matters, but that one's practically shouting.

Chris
01-06-2011, 09:11 PM
Yes, they are very hard to push down sometimes. Put a little grease on the steerer tube.

StellaBlue
01-06-2011, 09:14 PM
Normal tap it down. I switch between two forks on a bike and it slides freely on my Uzo pro but needs some elbow grease on my steel fork..

PS: It's had to tell on that tiny pic..

oliver1850
01-06-2011, 09:14 PM
I think the compression sleeve is stuck in the black top cap.