PDA

View Full Version : New knees old legs

mnoble485
12-27-2010, 10:10 AM
As posted earlier I had bilateral total knee repalcement done mid August. The result was new knees and straighter legs. this resulted in my knees hitting the top tube, my calfs hitting the water bottle and my ankles whacking the crank arms. I went to my local guy and we moved my cleats out as far as possible (Dura ace) and this has helped except for the ankles. His suggestion was to go to Speedplay as they allow for more adjustment in the spindle.

I feel like I am pedaling squares and nothing really "feels" right. Is this a normal rehab thing? Any thoughts on re-building form and stamina? I was never fast to begin with but now I feel like I should trade in my CDA for a 'bent.

Nuff ranting.

Mike :crap:

Dave
12-27-2010, 10:31 AM
I have no experience with your situation, but I will have in the future. My left knee is shot. I'm taking synvisc injections and using a medial unloading leg brace to get by until I'm a little older (only 57 now).

Don't overlook the possibility of needing Lemond wedges to correct some of your alignment issues.

What you didn't mention is if you had any of these problems before the knee replacement. I've followed riders with some very strange foot and knee movement. The most common problem I see is one or both knees flaring way out to the side, rather than inward, but I've seen the inward knee motion too. I've also seen many cases of wobbly heels, moving back and forth on each stroke.

I only discovered that I needed a wedge on my left cleat when I switched to speedplay X-2, full floating pedals. The cleat spring on the left side wore a groove in the pedal spindle, indicating that I had the less common problem of forefoot valgus. The wedge fixed that problem, but I never had any unusual knee movement due to the misalignment.

http://www.cambriabike.com/shopexd.asp?Item=051000001100

mnoble485
12-27-2010, 11:31 AM