PDA

View Full Version : Ot: umemployed, canceled a interview, dangerous driving conditions

gemship
12-21-2010, 09:37 AM
Well I don't usually start new threads heck sometimes I don't bother to log in but today is developing into a head trip for me. I've mentioned this situation of mine a few times in previous posts to other's threads, I am a unemployed cnc milling operator. I have also done landscaping and worked as a dishwasher and even a entry level electro mechanical assembler but for the past ten years I did a ton of job hopping working at various machine shops. Somehow I managed to pic up blueprint reading skills, reading and editing programs and setting up and operating mostly cnc mills and working with cnc lathes, mostly operating the lathes. A couple of years ago I was laid off from work, a job that I only spent six weeks at. I worked second shift with two other guys and never really developed much a relationship with the rest of the management, when they laid me off it was the same day the laid off at least a dozen others, it was a heavy hit to a company with less than fifty employees. I actually had mixed feelings about the lay off. With no debt, single, no kids and living at home, alone actually, my parents place but they have a couple of places, what can I say, they're generous to let stay at home and not kick me out and make a profit as renters. So anyways I never really loved the trade but for the past ten years as my resume relates I am pigeon holed as a machinist. The trade is just starting to pick up and I exhausted the full grant of benefits by our gov't two months ago. In a way I'm happy to have finished off the bennies but for obvious reasons, I'm no millionaire, it's time to find a job, can't stand drawing from my savings. So I have sent my resume out to a bunch of places and a couple advertised thru Monster, well Monster has my resume up for the world to see and I get a call from a recruiter today. She wanted to to interview with me so I said