PDA

View Full Version : BEST BRAKES (weight weenies, stay away!)

tsarpepe
12-08-2010, 02:36 PM
I would like to take a poll on what you would consider, from your experience, to the best brakeset available currently, WITH NO CONSIDERATION OF WEIGHT. Let's hear it!

johnnymossville
12-08-2010, 02:53 PM
Dura-Ace are the best I've used, Though I love my Campy Record D-Skeletons

spartacus
12-08-2010, 02:57 PM
DA....if you're talking about road caliper brakes. In rain, and winter snow and ice conditions disc brakes are the best.

AngryScientist
12-08-2010, 02:59 PM
i have limited experience but from what i've heard the DA brakes combined with the new 7900 levers provide excellent modulation.

that said, a lot of it comes down to the pads and rim surface. i've never ridden anything that worked better than my chorus skeleton calipers with swiss stop pads

skijoring
12-08-2010, 03:00 PM
Modolo Professionals :)

Dura-Ace.

WeakRider
12-08-2010, 03:03 PM
First tier:
DA 7800 (haven't tried 7900 yet)

Second tier:
TRP R920
SRAM Rival
SRAM Force

Third tier:
Campy Chorus Skeleton
Campy Record Skeleton

1,000th tier:

Zero Gravity
Any cantilever

*Dying to try EE Brakes and TRP R960s*

Mark McM
12-08-2010, 03:09 PM
What do mean by "best brakes?"

The best brakes are the ones attached to a vehicle that won't pitch over at only 1/2 g of deceleration or skid the rear wheel at 1/4 g of deceleration.

While there are certainly some awful brakes out there, on a bicycle the brakes themselves can only get so good before they exceed the stopping capabilities of the rest of the bike.

The best stopping, of course, is when braking at just below the maximum limits of the vehicle - but most often the ability to stay at that point is limited by the operator, not the equipment.

tsarpepe
12-08-2010, 03:17 PM