PDA

View Full Version : Semi-OT: any certified tool nuts in here?

rice rocket
12-07-2010, 08:52 AM
Granted, I'm not a professional mechanic or electrician, but nothing irks me more than broken fasteners because of crappy tool tolerances that round off heads, or tools that self destruct and leave both broken fastener and tool. While I like spending money on bike stuff, I can't help but spend money on good tools as well, because they often times save a bloodied knuckle or a stripped bolt head. Plus, good tools can be passed down for generations to come. That's not to say that I'm still not buying tools at Harbor Freight, but they're mostly single use specialty tools (i.e. I'm not buying a $300 tool from SnapOn to use once), but most Harbor Freight junk is...junk. Poor quality cast metals that aren't hardened so they destroy your bolt heads/tools, etc. I've tried them all, and it's hard not to at a couple bucks for a whole set of screwdrivers, wrenches, etc.

If I need stuff in a pinch that I can pickup at a local store, I tend to like Stanley stuff. Husky (Home Depot house brand) stuff is sloppy, Kobalt (Lowes) is a little better, Craftsman is decent but overpriced. Started off with a "mechanics" Stanley kit 10 years ago and haven't broken anything, though things don't fit as tightly as my better tools. I still have it around to fill in the gaps (i.e. standard stuff when I need it or some odd sized metric stuff that I didn't buy).

Anyways, I'm partial to:

Wrenches - Beta
Ratcheting wrenches - Toptul
Ratchet & sockets - Beta
T-handle allen wrenches - Beta
Torque wrench - Harbor Freight :D
Screwdrivers - Wiha and Wera
Cordless tools - Ingersoll Rand
Angle grinder - Makita
Pliers & cutters - Knipex

Post up what you like!

Also, looking for suggestions on some impact sockets, I finally blew up all the useful sizes in my Harbor Freight set. :p

Frankwurst
12-07-2010, 09:04 AM