PDA

View Full Version : Frame building in MA

jburtonrider
11-30-2010, 09:42 PM
Looking to get into frame building as I am a student with some free time, especially now it's the off-season. I was wondering if anybody knew of any frame builders looking for help where I could learn the ropes. Apart from taking those $2500 classes that HotTubes or similar programs offer, I'd like to find another way to learn.

Any suggestions would be helpful.

BumbleBeeDave
11-30-2010, 09:47 PM
I would suggest checking with local builders. If you are the Boston area there are Indy Fab and Seven and probably others I am not aware of. Even if they just need free office help you'd probably get to know people and make some connections that might help get you where you want to go.

BBD

Bruce K
12-01-2010, 04:35 AM
Parlee, Zanconato, Maietta, Hot Tubes....

BK

Mr. Squirrel
12-01-2010, 05:43 AM
good nuts!

mr. squirrel

anthony.maietta
12-01-2010, 06:34 AM
I am not in a position to take on any interns, sorry.

Lots of us these days...I'm sure I missed someone...someone might work out.

ANT
Geekhouse
Hot Tubes
Icarus
Iglehart
Independent Fabrication
Maietta
Mooney
Parlee
Royal H
Sachs
Seven
Zanconato

Doug Fattic
12-01-2010, 06:57 AM
Jburtonrider,

As the teacher of one of those "similar programs", let me be the one to bring you the bad news. Your question is a very common one on the various forums devoted to framebuilding. It is very unlikely that any experienced framebuilder will want to teach you in exchange for free work. They/we know that the time it takes to show you the ropes will not be returned in useful labor. There are a lot that ask. It is not practical or even possible to let someone inexperienced work on a customer’s frame. There is only so much sweeping the floors that can be done. The time taken to show you something is a reduction in a paycheck.