PDA

View Full Version : Road tubeless rims and sealant

bobswire
11-05-2010, 08:22 AM
I'll be installing some tubeless tires on a new set of DA 7850-tl's tubeless wheels. I've never used "tubeless" before and getting conflicting messages :argue: from friends.
Some say to use Stans or some other sealant and others tell me just run them without sealant because the sealant will foul up the rims and to just carry a tube in case of a flat.
Any sage advice would be most welcome.
Thanks,
Bob

oldpotatoe
11-05-2010, 08:44 AM
I'll be installing some tubeless tires on a new set of DA 7850-tl's tubeless wheels. I've never used "tubeless" before and getting conflicting messages :argue: from friends.
Some say to use Stans or some other sealant and others tell me just run them without sealant because the sealant will foul up the rims and to just carry a tube in case of a flat.
Any sage advice would be most welcome.
Thanks,
Bob

Tubeless ready rims and tires require no goop. That is there to seal small holes.

For holes big enough to not be sealed with the goop, putting a tube in on the road is truly a mess.

crownjewelwl
11-05-2010, 09:01 AM
I think you should go for sealant. While it is a mess in the case that you the puncture is so big that you need to put in a tube, it'll definitely seal up the little nicks. Sometimes the seal won't be perfect, but you will be able to get home at least.

I've had 2 punctures that the sealant "fixed" and one catastrophic puncture that required a tube. The times that the sealant did its job, I still had to patch the holes when I got home.

Ray
11-05-2010, 09:36 AM