PDA

View Full Version : Initial Bedford sport touring bike review

Dekonick
10-28-2010, 08:09 PM
OK - I picked her up earlier in the week from smiley. Couldn't ride yesterday, or the day before. Today was the perfect setting so it was just meant to be.

I did not want to do anything crazy as this is a change in my 'fit' and want to get used to the feel before going on any long rides. Today was a two hour trip with lots of stops to take pictures. The fall color will not last much longer and I wanted to take advantage of the fantastic light. Too bad I suck as a photographer...

Now to the report. The setup is different than I have been riding for the last 5 years. This is my first touring frame and a lot of thought went into the design. It was built to work with a Brooks B-17, and the new Campy brifters - this resulted in a 54 top tube, much shorter than I have ever had before - but was necessary to accommodate the Brooks, Brifters, and still put me in a comfortable position. The result is a 9cm stem (too short? ;) I think Kelly Bedford knows what he is doing so I think it is just right! ) with a 5cm drop to Poco bars. I left all of the design to the master - my input was on what and how I was going to use the bike. They asked, I answered. The result is my new Bedford.

The ride: