PDA

View Full Version : Met two cyclist this week who hate steel frames...

dd74
10-27-2010, 01:08 AM
I mean, it was almost with zeal that they did so. One was riding Ti, the other carbon.

I can understand preferring one material or the other over steel - but hating steel? Seemed a bit harsh to me. Possibly it was a reversed retro-grouch thing. I dunno...

Louis
10-27-2010, 01:16 AM
It's a Karma thing. Someone has to balance out Grant P.

BengeBoy
10-27-2010, 01:47 AM
That's the kind of bias that will get you fired from NPR.

Louis
10-27-2010, 01:56 AM
Good riddance. I never liked him anyway, even before he went over to the dark side.

Blue Jays
10-27-2010, 01:59 AM
A well-fitted steel bike feels great.
A well-fitted aluminum bike feels great.
A well-fitted carbon fiber bike feels great.
A well-fitted titanium bike feels great.

AndrewS
10-27-2010, 02:00 AM
I've never ridden much on steel. Back when I started riding aluminum was the rage, so that's what I got. It was light and efficient, and being third generation, didn't beat me up too much.

It also came with a Prism aluminum fork. The press loved these things - excellent track and control without the harshness of steel. Lot's of people really seemed to believe that, and only steel frames or cheap bikes came with anything but aluminum forks for several years - pretty much until the Kestrel EMS became common.

Steel has many fine properties, but from what I've seen and heard, traditional steel frame diameters don't make for the stiffest BBs or frames in general. The Rinard frame tests show that the most flexible bicycles of that time were made of steel, up to 4 times as flexible as a Cannondale (he doesn't have a Vitus or TVT on there, though). Not that all steel bicycles were flexible, but many were very flexy, even compared to the older Ti frames. Plus, many steel frames were pushing 6 pounds - that didn't make any friends, either.