PDA

View Full Version : Way OT - Telecom Towers and the Future

slowandsteady
10-13-2010, 02:11 PM
Anyone on the forum well versed in the telecommunications market and the future of cell site towers located in cities.

I know it seems like an odd question but i'd like a little insight on this as I currently host both an AT&T and Verizon cell array site on one of my building in New York City.

I basically want to know if you think it is worthwhile to hold on to the leases for them or sell them. i.e. will they still be using these types of cell sites in the next 5, 10, 20 years or is the industry moving in another direction or with a different, new technology?

Would love to chat with you for 5 minutes when you have a moment...

-Matt-

crownjewelwl
10-13-2010, 02:28 PM
I'm no technology expert, but I cover the publicly traded stocks (CCI, AMT, etc.) which have performed VERY well off the bottom.

The near-term growth opportunity still seems great i.e., more smart phones = more data = more demand for towers. It is actually pretty difficult to get approval for new towers (esp in NYC), so more cell arrays are going up on the same towers which means more rent for you.

Longer-term you have to worry about new technology like WiMAX which allows for more data density i.e., fewer towers needed. But I don't think this change is happening any time soon. McCaw is making a push with Clearwire, but I think this is the case were early guys spend a lot of money and lose a fortune first, then the companies get recapitalized and do ok.

That said, have you received offers for your sites?

slowandsteady
10-13-2010, 03:04 PM
I have several offers all in the 90-96 month lump sump ayment range...

crownjewelwl
10-13-2010, 03:11 PM
90-96x monthly rent so 7.5-8x annual?

rent is basically cash flow for you right since you probably don't have any operating expenses associated with the towers?