PDA

View Full Version : Clean Bottle Story covered at 37 Signals

xjoex
10-12-2010, 11:53 AM
I don't know if you guys are fans of the book REWORK by the people that run 37 Signals, but man is it great.

Anyhow they just did a little feature on Clean Bottle, who is just a dude who has a full time job at Cisco Networks and wanted to make a better bottle.

Cool story here: http://37signals.com/svn/posts/2602-creator-of-clean-bottle-scratches-his-own-itch-and-gets-creative-with-pr

The story is this:
37signals Team – I just listened to your audio book – twice! It was affirming to me because a lot of your recommendations are things I am already doing or have done…

I am a product line manager at Cisco out in Silicon Valley. I’m also an avid cyclist and I’ve always had problems cleaning out my water bottles. If I’d leave them with a bit of energy drink for a day or two, when I’d come back they’d look like a petri dish and I’d have to chuck them. So, three years ago I started working on a sports bottle that unscrews at both ends so I could actually clean and dry the dang thing. So – it was great to hear your advice about ‘scratching your own itch’.

I kept my day job at Cisco the whole way through, so it was definitely cool to hear that that footed with your advice as well. I didn’t take any outside money – another piece of your advice – since I wanted total control of the company. Cisco was my VC since they were paying my salary

It took me three years, but in May I finally launched my company, Clean Bottle.