PDA

View Full Version : Training with Power Meter....

oldguy00
10-09-2010, 02:53 PM
Well, I just dropped a stupid amount of $$ (for me) on a wheelset with a Powertap. I'm planning to use it for the winter. I have no experience with this stuff, and no good coaches around for this sort of thing.
Can anyone recommend an easy to understand book that would be good to follow for this type of training?

allegretto
10-09-2010, 05:20 PM
"Training and Racing with a Power Meter".. Hunter Allen and Andrew Coggan

pretty much the first and last word

a good coach, even online is very helpful. mine has been very very good and helps a lot

got my first meter and since put another on my Moots. I don't ride without considering power. Makes it even more fun

but that's me, others no doubt feel differently

T.J.
10-09-2010, 05:57 PM
If you can swing the cash, get a coach. Even though you may be able to figure out a plan etc , having to download your files and send them in holds you accountable. Paying for the coaching is also a motivation to bust your hump and do the work. If you want some contact info on a good coach pm me.

Bob Loblaw
10-09-2010, 07:30 PM
Friel's book, "The Cyclist's Training Bible" is a popular one.

BL

rockdude
10-09-2010, 08:55 PM
Without a set plan or coach its just a $1k toy.....

false_Aest
10-10-2010, 01:22 AM
"Training and Racing with a Power Meter".. Hunter Allen and Andrew Coggan

read it 3x.

Then go buy http://velopress.com/cycling.php?id=48

I'm not a fan of the Friel stuff . . . it's at once too complicated and too simple.

Start scouring the Training sectino of Weight Weenies. Lots of good info there.

oldguy00
10-10-2010, 06:42 AM
Thanks all, I think I have a buddy with that book, so will be giving it a read.
Cheers

Bruce K
10-10-2010, 07:25 AM
Good luck.

Our Masters (read - old guys) team has a coach who has us all on Power Taps and it has made a big difference for all of us.

BK

Pete Serotta
10-10-2010, 07:30 AM