PDA

View Full Version : Installing rear Paul canti on old Litespeed Appalachian

sgmidf
10-03-2010, 05:50 AM
I'm building up an Litespeed Appalachian frame/fork that I've had for a while and want to use Paul Cantis on it. The rear cable stop on the frame is at an angle. I'll admit I'm no canti expert so I don't see how this would apply force evenly. Am I missing a bracket or some other piece?
Thanks
Steve

kramnnim
10-03-2010, 09:20 AM
Pictures?

As long as the cable exits the stop at the centerline of the frame, it should still work...

EricEstlund
10-03-2010, 10:42 AM
Even if the brake cable exits very asymmetrically, the hanger can be scooted along the straddle cable to balance pull.

If you are referring to the canti stop being a single post rather then the traditional "U" mount, that in itself does not pose a set up or performance issue.

sgmidf
10-03-2010, 04:02 PM
Here is a pic. When I squeeze the lever (ergo) it preferentially pulls the right side.

DfCas
10-03-2010, 04:10 PM
Have you tried changing the spring tension on the arms? That, and moving the straddle should balance the arms. I had an Ap with Pauls and can't remember having problems.

Bob Loblaw
10-03-2010, 04:14 PM
Looks fine to me, as long as there's no brake rub. If there is brake rub, you can remedy it by adjusting the spring tension.

If it's stressing you out, you could switch to a V-brake or hang one of these (http://store.icyclesusa.com/cantilever-brake-rear-cable-hanger-black-p5677.aspx?utm_medium=cse&utm_source=googlebase) from the seatpost binder bolt.

BL

EricEstlund
10-03-2010, 05:14 PM
Or one of these (http://www.rivbike.com/images/products/full/0000/2478/15-153b.jpg).

that guy
10-04-2010, 11:33 AM
Yeah, a hanger that has a way of clamping the straddle cable would be best. That way it will stay where you put it.

AndrewS
10-04-2010, 12:06 PM