PDA

View Full Version : Starting a service shop

Bob Loblaw
09-27-2010, 04:56 PM
Hi all,

It seems like I have been working on a friend's bike, or a friend's kid's bike, every other week all summer, so I am thinking about opening a service shop out of my basement. I wouldn't sell bikes, just fix them. The local LBS is doing me a favor by charging outrageous labor rates for mediocre service, so I thought it might be a fun way to pick up a little spending money on the side.

I don't consider myself an expert, but I usually answer questions more often than I pose them. Tool wise, I lack headset tools, but that's about it. I put myself through college at a bike shop, so I'm a pretty confident mechanic. I lack any sort of business savvy, however.

Any thoughts from those in the industry as to where to start and how to get something like this going?

Thanks!

BL

FlashUNC
09-27-2010, 05:13 PM
I know a couple folks who've gone this route. Short version is provide great service and good rates, and word of mouth can usually be enough to build a decent business, since your overhead is so low.

If you want some specific contacts, PM me.

fourflys
09-27-2010, 05:23 PM
there's a guy here locally who did just that... he is doing it as his only job, so he has a fully insured, enclosed trailer that he will do work onsite or take your bike back to his house and then deliver it when he's done... He seems to to be as busy as he wants to be and he does charge less than the LBS...

I think if you're competent, have good word of mouth and maybe have someone set up a nice website for you, you'll do just fine...

Good Luck!

GuyGadois
09-27-2010, 05:24 PM
Bob,
I have seen a few Craigslist postings advertising services. Not sure how many respond but it may be a good start. Like the other guy said, word of mouth is your best bet. Get a good name with the local clubs and Bob is your uncle.

Guy

Dave
09-27-2010, 05:29 PM