PDA

View Full Version : Do you need spacers?

veloduffer
09-27-2010, 02:53 PM
I'm getting a Fierte and with its long head tube, the my fit appears not to need a spacer between the stem and headset using a -17 stem.

Pardon me for asking (being from the old quill world), do you need to have a spacer or can the stem go right on top of the headset (without damage)?

AngryScientist
09-27-2010, 02:57 PM
i'm not an expert, but i'm going to guess that it's going to depend at least partially on what type of stem you are using and the interface with the bottom of the stem and the top of the headset. if there is a clean, flush fit, i cant see why you would need a spacer there.

AndrewS
09-27-2010, 03:20 PM
There is discussion on another spacer thread today that Trek blamed a bunch of steerer failures on the stem sitting right on the headset. Maybe the clamping is a factor?

That fit sounds odd. Seems like tall headtube for you on a custom bike. Is there another model that isn't so tall?

veloduffer
09-27-2010, 03:26 PM
There is discussion on another spacer thread today that Trek blamed a bunch of steerer failures on the stem sitting right on the headset. Maybe the clamping is a factor?

That fit sounds odd. Seems like tall headtube for you on a custom bike. Is there another model that isn't so tall?

I bought this Fierte (all carbon) on ebay, and it is stock geometry. Headtube is 19cm on a 58cm (56.5cm virtual top tube) bike. Plus the bb drop is 8cm, so getting to my 5cm saddle-handlebar differential (I use a 75.5cm saddle to bb height) is going to be close.

David Kirk
09-27-2010, 03:28 PM
I think the reason that many makers want a spacer is to allow the steerer to have a longer radius natural flex to it and less of a hinging at the headset type of deal.

I personally never design bikes to run without spacers because this gives no room to lower the stem. And if the stem is already a -17° rise then you have even fewer options should you need/want to go lower.

dave