PDA

View Full Version : Score one for the big fellas

rugbysecondrow
09-27-2010, 09:15 AM
I have been doing triathlons for a few years (some sprint, some international and a couple offroad) and for the first time I actually placed (2nd) in my age group. I must be honest and say that this was not the most competitive field I have participated in, a social race with plenty of beer and food afterwards, but there is something satisfying about being a solid clydesdale and taking an age group medal regardless of the race. I felt great on the swim, bike felt strong and the run started well, until I hit a stretch of road with no shade and 90 degree sun and hot asphalt. I went from cruising to pushing, but I made it back to the shade and after a little water, I was solid for the finish. Anyway, it was a great time and I recommend the race to anyone (pm for info). It was funny because they started reading off times and I thought, "I did better than that.", then I hit me that I was going to place...no effin way. I saunter up with beer in had and elastic shorts on to claim my medal, and from then on my buddy got my beer the rest of the night.

Anyway, great people, not pretentiousness, fun atmostphere. Good times had by all...did I mention all you can eat and all you can drink beer?). Check out the obligatory chubby photo with medal...yep, score one for us clydesdales.

William
09-27-2010, 09:26 AM