PDA

View Full Version : Full Moon Fever yesterday! Motorists freaking!

avalonracing
09-22-2010, 11:02 AM
Yesterday afternoon I got a call from a friend who said that while she was driving her SUV some guy cut her off so she lightly tapped her horn. The guy then spent the next two minutes taunting her (tailgating, slowing down in front of her and making a "gun" with his hand and shooting at her). She got a number in called the police... Anyway that is an aside to this story:

What in the hell was up with the motorists yesterday? It was a PERFECT day in Maryland. Mid 70šs, low humidity, sunny, just amazing. I went on a ride starting at 3:30 with three other guys on moderately rural roads west of my home. We were in a line, straddling the shoulder line whenever we were near any traffic. Anyway, in the course of a 35 mile ride we were literally flipped off, honked at, yelled at or buzzed over 20 times!!!! I've been riding for 20 years and I have never had this ratio of maniacs to miles.

It wasn't just motorists that felt we were in the way it was also drivers going the other direction on the other side of a double yellow with no opposing traffic yelling "Get the eff off the road!".

I do know that a full moon can make people nuts but what the hell?!!!

GuyGadois
09-22-2010, 11:13 AM
It's obviously the Hindenburg Omen or maybe the President's fault?

In some seriouslness, I have been thinking more and more about taking on mtn biking to get off the roads. As my kids are now of the age to ride on the road with me there is no way in hell I am taking them on the same roads I ride on (except for a few that I see as safe). To answer your question, maybe it is the stress level that the economic slowdown has produced and the ever increasing need for people to be as efficient as possible at every moment of life.

MattTuck
09-22-2010, 11:25 AM
It's funny, I have not found the drivers to be too bad lately.