PDA

View Full Version : stripping my paint of a ti bike

cap111
09-08-2010, 05:21 PM
Ok,

I have no knowledge of this so bare with me please.

I contacted Serotta, they told me that since my Legend was painted I can't strip it down and leave it bare. They say once painted always painted.

I'm trying to get the same outcome as the way non polished lightspeeds look.

Can I just take it to a shop that will strip it of all its paint and leave it bare?

I was under the impresion ti doesnt rust or decay?

input please,

Thank you, Christian

tsarpepe
09-08-2010, 05:28 PM
Hi there. Just do a search on "stripping paint" and you will find several threads. One of them was started by me when I had to get the paint off my Merlin Extralight. The advice from forumites was good, and I ended up doing a pretty competent job of it.

AndrewS
09-08-2010, 05:52 PM
Ti is non-reactive, so I would buy the most potent chemical stripper available so I don't have to do any scraping - hopefully it would all come off with cardboard and steel wool.

That said, there are usually some pieces bonded on Ti frames - a seat tube insert to make it 27.2 and sometimes head tube inserts. Don't get stripper on those parts.

Brushed finishes are done with strips of 3M Scotchbrite 7447, which I believe is "metal - very fine". I think it works better dry.

Otherwise, have the whole frame bead blasted with the appropriate grit - removes paint and leaves a popular finish in one go.

One would hope Serotta's paint policy has more to do with the uneven finish you'll find under the paint, rather than covering something uglier (though I can't think what that would be).

Want a look no one else has? Attach 1" Scotchbrite pads to the end of some sort of drill attachment and jewel the whole frame!

SoCalSteve
09-08-2010, 06:05 PM