PDA

View Full Version : Deda Newton round deep drops vs. Cinelli 66

saab2000
04-16-2005, 05:10 PM
Hi Folks,

The more I ride my Croll set up with the Cinelli 66-42s, the more I think that I like them. A lot.

When I started riding in the early 80s these are what I used and I used them forever, until I started using ITMs. I have also used Cinelli 65s, but they won't work well with Ergos. Also, they are hard to find.

Anyway, I like my 66-42s and I was wondering if anyone has tried the Deda Newtons round bars in the deep drop? Anyone with any experience with them? Are they pretty similar in shape and size and reach?

04-16-2005, 06:25 PM
I have bikes set up with both the Deda Newton shallow drop non-anatomic and the Newton deep-drop non-anatomic (aka "Italian") bars. And I used to ride 66-42's for years and still have one pair on a fixie.

The Deeps are different in several respects, mostly positive:

1. MUCH stiffer and much lighter.
2. The bend from the straights down to the brake levers is a little bit sharper on the Deeps.
3. The Deeps don't seem to have as much reach because they tend to go forward a bit without dropping and then drop pretty quickly, unlike the 66-42's which start dropping even before they turn the corner at the top.
4. The bottoms are longer on the 66-42's if you like to ride at the very ends of the drops.
5. The curve at the bottom of the drop is a little more gradual on the Deeps than on the 66-42 (i.e, the Deeps have a quite even curvature from drop to top, while the 66-42's start gradually and pick up curvature a bit more at the bottom). This gives you more useful range in the drops.