PDA

View Full Version : OT: cl/paypal scam?

vqdriver
08-30-2010, 04:47 PM
i received an email about an item i've got on craigslist. i replied that with the price and that i still have it. here's the email i got in response. smells fishy to me, but if payment's being sent via paypal and not some strange wire service, is there a risk???

fyi, my asking price is 320.

email:
Hello,

Thanks for your reply toward my request for your item, I am very happy to hear that the item is still available, the price you want to get the item sold is acceptable by me and I hope it is in good condition. I am a medical doctor residing in texas.

Actually, i am buying this item as a gift for my girl, she was currently transfered to west africa with world health organization.I will pay through paypal and you will help me mail the item to my son through US postal service (USPS).

Kindly provide me with your paypal email. I will be adding a shipping fee. I think ($470) will cover the shipping and your money.

I need this item as soon as possible so that it can be able to get to her soon. I travelled to the United Kingdom(UK) for an emergency,that is why i can't do this locally/pick it up hope you will understand.kindly get back to me asap so that i will make the payment, Hoping to hear from you soon.

Regards,

Bob ------------

StellaBlue
08-30-2010, 04:47 PM
scam

akelman
08-30-2010, 04:49 PM
Total scam. Despite the temptation of getting your asking price+, don't do it.

rwsaunders
08-30-2010, 04:50 PM
That's as authentic as they get...from the content of the email, it could be that the buyers are Brad and Angelina... :cool:

akelman
08-30-2010, 04:52 PM
That said, my uncle really is the former finance minister of Mali. And if you'd just send me $1,200 so I can get him out of a secret prison, we can make you a rich man. Rich, I say!

dave thompson
08-30-2010, 04:53 PM