PDA

View Full Version : Energy drinks, GU, etc.

rice rocket
08-26-2010, 01:31 AM
Any recommendation for electrolytes?

I'm new to the whole game of "sports nutrition"; most my physical activity has been weightlifting in the past (except swimming in my high school days), where pre-workout wasn't really necessary, and recovery was pretty simple with carbs followed by protein.

Problem on the bike is, I'm bonking out halfway through my workout. So far, I haven't done much more than have water in one bottle, Gatorade in the other...but even then I bonk really hard around 30 miles. Not only do I feel somewhat dizzy, I also cramp pretty bad in the quads.

I got an FRS sample pack that I'll have to read more about, but when/where am I using gel? Or should I be looking into water additives?

Suggestions or anecdotes appreciated.

gauvink
08-26-2010, 05:38 AM
Any recommendation for electrolytes?

I'm new to the whole game of "sports nutrition"; most my physical activity has been weightlifting in the past (except swimming in my high school days), where pre-workout wasn't really necessary, and recovery was pretty simple with carbs followed by protein.

Problem on the bike is, I'm bonking out halfway through my workout. So far, I haven't done much more than have water in one bottle, Gatorade in the other...but even then I bonk really hard around 30 miles. Not only do I feel somewhat dizzy, I also cramp pretty bad in the quads.

I got an FRS sample pack that I'll have to read more about, but when/where am I using gel? Or should I be looking into water additives?

Suggestions or anecdotes appreciated.

I would check out the hammer nutrition website. even if you dont use their products there is an overload of info there. (I've no relation to hammer products)

jblande
08-26-2010, 05:44 AM
I would check out the hammer nutrition website. even if you dont use their products there is an overload of info there. (I've no relation to hammer products)

this is true.

Secosera