PDA

View Full Version : OT: Credit History Issue

false_Aest
08-24-2010, 03:43 PM
Looks like I gotta apply for a loan.

I've got 3 negatives on my credit history (They all happened in my early 20s)

1 really isn't my fault and its getting disputed.
2 was really just me being boneheaded.
3 is a 30 day late payment 6 years and 9 months ago (Dec 2003)

From what I understand these negative things stick around for about 7 years.

Is there a way to get #3 removed from my report . . . now? I don't see how filing a dispute will help since I really was late on the payment.

Eff, I'm just learning this stuff so any info is good.

Thanks
T

Len J
08-24-2010, 04:02 PM
Looks like I gotta apply for a loan.

I've got 3 negatives on my credit history (They all happened in my early 20s)

1 really isn't my fault and its getting disputed.
2 was really just me being boneheaded.
3 is a 30 day late payment 6 years and 9 months ago (Dec 2003)

From what I understand these negative things stick around for about 7 years.

Is there a way to get #3 removed from my report . . . now? I don't see how filing a dispute will help since I really was late on the payment.

Eff, I'm just learning this stuff so any info is good.

Thanks
T

First off, I'd go to the trouble to check all 3 credit bureaus.....if you are going to address it, you might as well do all 3.

Second, Call the credit bureau up and ask them what it will take....believe it or not, they will tell you and you can decide what if any option to choose.

Good luck & good for you taking the iniative.

len

vqdriver
08-24-2010, 04:12 PM
i don't know the nature of #1 or 2, but i can't imagine a single late payment could be that big of a deal.

FlashUNC
08-24-2010, 04:14 PM
As someone who recently had to go for the bank for credit (in this case a car loan) I had a similar situation to #3 on my credit report. Didn't affect my FICO much, and the bank didn't seem to mind, so I wouldn't necessarily worry about that one too much.