PDA

View Full Version : how much pressure should brakes require?

Ken Robb
08-12-2010, 01:12 PM
I have/had a bunch of bikes with all kinds of brakes. My Legend had Shimano 7800 group and its brakes required the least effort of any I had ridden. The other end of the spectrum (NO, not you Tom) was my 1981 Nishiki with Nuovo Record group and std. reach brakes w/original type pads. It was very difficult/impossible to get sufficient braking with my hands on the hoods though I could lock up both ends using all fingers while in the drops.
I installed some modern holders and pads. Now I can lock up both ends with firm pressure when I'm on the hoods and also using just my index fingers when in the drops.

So I thought the 7800 brakes were wonderful because I ride on the hoods more than in the drops I now really like the tremendous range of modulation provided by the combination of NR single pivots w/modern pads.

I have no real experience with newer brakes like 7900, etc. but I wonder if they require even less pressure and if so are they too touchy?

AngryScientist
08-12-2010, 01:43 PM
modulation is far more important than required pressure IMO, and the brakes themselves are only a small part of the equation.

rim sidewalls, their surface and stiffness play a huge part in brake feel, and how much input is needed to stop effectively, ditto for brake pads.

cleanly cut and prepped, stiff cables also add a ton to brake feel. of course levers and calipers do count for something, but less than you would think.

Charles M
08-12-2010, 01:50 PM
7900 were designed differently because of the mech changes required to bring the cables into the handles... The got a brake that is VERY strong but is too front loaded with power and it's at the cost of modulation...

Some folks like it and some don't... It's not a "better or worse" thing.

I like brakes with very good power but with less initial bite and a bit more range from initial strength to lock up.