PDA

View Full Version : Way OT: Lawn Mowers.

TMB
08-09-2010, 03:51 PM
I am sick to death of fighting what appears to be a losing battle with the made in China Briggs and Stratton engine on my lawn mower.

So, out looking today. I can get a Cub Cadet or an Ariens. The Cub Cadet has an engine that appears to be their own. The Ariens is a Kawasaki engine.

I looked at Deere's and what not but to my surprise they have the same damn engines as the one I've long since learned to hate.

So, given I have no knowledge of either of these brands, any comments???

Pete Serotta
08-09-2010, 03:52 PM
I gave up the fight many years ago and went to HONDA mowers. No problems since. My neighbor recently got one also for his aggravation was too much and he was borrowing mine too often. :crap: :crap:

Mike748
08-09-2010, 03:54 PM
MTD owns or makes and private labels several of the old formerly high quality name brands (Bolens, Troy Built, Cub Cadet etc). AYP makes others. You can't count on the old brand names being indicative of current quality.

I'd really like a zero turn machine one day... if I can stop buying bikes instead.

Ralph
08-09-2010, 04:04 PM
Kawasaki makes fine lawn mower engines. I recently got rid of a worn out Snapper commercial grade self propelled 21" mower with Kawasaki engine....but the engine was still fine....and never had a moments trouble with it. I loved that engine....only got rid of the mower because the transmission was shot and much of the metal controls were rusting away. I got about 10 years out of that Snapper with just minor maintenance....and in Florida we mow every week, about all year.

Ozz
08-09-2010, 04:25 PM
At the golf course I worked when going to college....we only ran Toro and Snapper mowers....although I use a Honda now, and very happy with it.

These were fun to drive:

SEABREEZE
08-09-2010, 04:25 PM
Kawasaki and Honda have been trouble free for me.

Look for a rider that has either of these engines.