PDA

View Full Version : Time to ride

Ray
04-10-2005, 08:31 AM
After working pretty hard for 23 years or so without a break of more than a couple of weeks off, I quit my job recently, with the Friday just past my last day. I'm real easy to get along with but finally, after all those years, I ran into a supervisor that I just couldn't get along with. I'm an experienced professional who's run my own projects with nearly total autonomy for the last 15 years or so and this guy was a micro manager who was less concerned with results that having every detail done his way. A very very very bad fit that made it more and more difficult to get up every day and go to work. So finally, after four years, I admitted I couldn't fix this situation and gave up and bailed

In any case, I'm lucky enough to be able to, and firmly determined to not even THINK about my next career move until next fall sometime, if then. My wife teaches and my kids are in the last couple of years at home, so I'm looking forward to spending a lot of time with them this summer.

But I'm also gonna have a LOT of time to ride, for the first time ever. I hope to ride myself just short of the point of burnout. See how much riding I can do and still enjoy it. I've always enjoyed long moderate paced days in the saddle more than shorter, balls out, speed rides (yeah, I know this soulds like a rando type bike more than a race bike, but I'm having FUN on the race bikes these days), and I'm gonna have a lot of time for long rides. Anyone else been in this situation recently? How'd it go? I'm sort of wondering if cycling will be as much fun as a primary activity as it has been as a release from the stresses of life's other activities.

At worst, it'll be a learning experience. And, at best, this could be a LOT of fun! I'll let you know how it goes.

Later,

-Ray

yeehawfactor
04-10-2005, 08:41 AM
enjoy! :beer:

Tom
04-10-2005, 08:42 AM