PDA

View Full Version : What do I need know??

Max
01-27-2004, 12:18 AM
I am trying to decided on a drive-train for the California Triple Crown Stage Race. I currently am using a Campy/Shimano 53-39/12-23, which certainly will not work for 47,000' of climbing and 600 miles. I am leaning toward using a Campy Triple 53-42-30 with customized custer 12,13,14,15,16,17,19,21,23,26 or maybe just a 13-29? I have never used a triple before. Is there anyone out there using a Campy 10 spd Triple?

Or is anyone using D/A 10 spd with a XTR RD and custer?

Please share your likes and/or dislikes on either drive-train. Thanks.

Brian
01-27-2004, 02:44 PM
Max,

I use an Ultegra Triple (52-42-30) with a 12-25 rear end. It has shifted flawlessly for 6,000 miles and has never failed to provide me with enough gears.

Last year a group from my cycling club completed the Highlander Century (100 miles and 10,000+ feet with grades up to 22%). Two of us had Ultegra Triples with 12-25. One used an Ultegra 53-39 with an 11-32 mountain bike cassette (the 39-32 is almost an identical gear ratio to the 30-25). The other two riders used Ultegra 53-39 drives with 12-27 rear ends and paid the price for not having enough gears.

The person with the mountain bike cassette (some no-name 9 speeder) was very happy with the setup given the massive amounts of climbing and had zero shift problems. She did comment that the jumps between gears were large, but she was still very happy she chose to replace her 12-27 road cassette with the 11-32 mountain setup. You may, however, not care for the large gear spacing. Another issue with the 11-32 setup is you need to make sure the chain length can handle the 53-32 combo. If not, just make a mental note not to use that ratio.

jeffg
01-27-2004, 06:30 PM