PDA

View Full Version : Brooks saddle owners...need advice

Kingfisher
06-09-2010, 08:45 AM
Ok, off the bike for a wk or two, Dr said I have prostatis (sp?), so I'm looking into another saddle and keep coming back to the Brooks B-17 (been cycling for 35 plus years, tried about everything, current setup is San Marco Regal).

For you B-17 owners, I see that they come in...standard or narrow. Anyone have both and can you comment/advise on either?

Thanks

Ray
06-09-2010, 09:15 AM
Both have a much flatter top than the crowned Regal. So there should be less pressure on the soft parts. No way to tell about width. B-17N is much closer to the width of my other saddles, but I've always been more comfortable on the wider b-17. Just have to try em.

-Ray

eddief
06-09-2010, 09:23 AM
but just about B17 adjustment in general. I have been riding them for a couple of years. I have found the micro adjustment of angle is really important to whether or not the saddle approaches being comfortable. Getting that top surface to interface correctly with the sit bones has taken many on and off the bike short rides with an allen key to finally believe I know it can be comfortable.

RADaines
06-09-2010, 09:30 AM
Ok, off the bike for a wk or two, Dr said I have prostatis (sp?), so I'm looking into another saddle and keep coming back to the Brooks B-17 (been cycling for 35 plus years, tried about everything, current setup is San Marco Regal).

For you B-17 owners, I see that they come in...standard or narrow. Anyone have both and can you comment/advise on either?

Are you saying that the saddle has caused your prostatitis or that it is aggravating it?

Kingfisher
06-09-2010, 10:11 AM
Are you saying that the saddle has caused your prostatitis or that it is aggravating it?

It looks like the saddle positioning might have aggravated the prostate which led to prostatis??? My doc is an athlete and runner and he said this very well may have been the case.