PDA

View Full Version : Outdoor vs Indoor Heart Rate Zones

rpm
06-01-2010, 05:09 PM
This winter I had my heart rate zones established in an indoor training class on a spin bike. Now that I'm training outdoors, my heart rates seem lower for the same perceived exertion (e.g., after a 1 min sprint, and I'm panting and breathing really hard). Are outdoor rates typically lower than indoor ones?

Pete Serotta
06-01-2010, 05:14 PM
The temperature might have somewhat of an effect but it is usually amount of effort expended - ie the amount of work.

I sweat more inside and the humidity affects me and my hear rate.

(I am far from an expert or a wealth of knowledge on this subject though.)

Jack Brunk or some of the others experts will be able to provide more info from personal knowledge and experience.

dogdriver
06-01-2010, 05:28 PM
This winter I had my heart rate zones established in an indoor training class on a spin bike. Now that I'm training outdoors, my heart rates seem lower for the same perceived exertion (e.g., after a 1 min sprint, and I'm panting and breathing really hard). Are outdoor rates typically lower than indoor ones?

Huh. I'm just the opposite-- higher heart rates outside for the same perceived exertion. Figured that listening to the birds sing distracted me from how close I was to vomiting... Seriously, I think that Joe Friel has written that indoor HR training zones are typically set a bit lower than for the same zone outdoors. Maybe your motivation has to do with the lycra-clad lass on the spin bike in front of you...

merckx
06-02-2010, 07:33 AM
When training in a hot enviroment like indoors, you can experience cardiac drift. The result is a higher heartrate at established perceived exertion levels.

happycampyer
06-02-2010, 08:43 AM