PDA

View Full Version : OT - new Ubuntu release -

Dekonick
05-28-2010, 10:44 PM
Anyone using it? fonts look weird when I post using it. There must be a source for more fonts...

vqdriver
05-28-2010, 11:15 PM
been thinking about going with a linux desktop.
is it very difficult to get started? special hardware needed or do most of the big boys have drivers?
what about apps?

JER3
05-28-2010, 11:54 PM
I've been using Ubuntu on all of my machines now for several years. Its solid and easy to use.

If you have certain windows programs that you can't live without then get VMware and convert your existing windows machine to a virtual machine. So you can run Windows within Ubuntu. You'll want a fast single or dual core and 2 GB RAM for that but it works great.

Look closely at your hardware before you jump in. Some things aren't well supported in Linux yet. I've generally found nVidia cards to be well supported. If you're hardware is not supported in Linux directly but its on a SCSI or USB bus then you can use VMWare and still access the hardware in Windows session hosted within Ubuntu.

Ubuntu isn't perfect but I've yet to find anything better for my needs. BTW: There are some gotcha's with the current 10.04 Lucid release. I'd recommend using 9.10 Karmic until they come out with a point release of Lucid.

130R
05-29-2010, 12:08 AM
hated windows, hated ubuntu.

mac osx is 100 times better than both.

imo

vqdriver
05-29-2010, 01:08 AM
How does it do with novell client?
Can it run a dos window?

xjoex
05-29-2010, 08:16 AM
I use Fedora on my travel laptop, but I have had more luck using VirtualBox instead of VMWare, its free and is not as much of a pain with the kernel driver rebuilding that VMware makes you go through.

But I agree with above OS X is a much nicer user experience.

I believe SUSE has the best Novell support, being owned by Novell.

-Joe

Dekonick
05-29-2010, 09:19 AM
Linux is easy to install - easier than windows.