PDA

View Full Version : which speedplay road pedal ?

stickville
05-26-2010, 01:54 PM
I have used eggbeaters for 5+ years. I am starting to have some knee pain and what to try speedplay road pedals. Should I try the "zero" or the "X series"?

RADaines
05-26-2010, 02:13 PM
I have used both the X and Zero models. I found the X to have way more float than necessary. I have been using the Zeros for several years and have no desire to change. They are a little bit harder to get in and out of compared to the X's but you get used to this quickly. I don't know anything about the Light Action models. Go with the Zeros so you can dial in the float that you need.

straightegde
05-26-2010, 02:24 PM
I bought set of zeros after riding egg beaters and SPDs and after the first couple rides on "ice" they feel great and work flawlessly. If you have knee problems the Xs are spring centering, so while having a lot of float the pedal will still try to move your foot into position. This could keep your knee agitated. The Zeros don't center or add to knee problems. I just bought some new Frogs to use for commuting, but haven't tried them yet. They should be similar to the Zero feel with no spring centering.

johnnymossville
05-26-2010, 02:24 PM
what he said. Go for the Zero.

jbrainin
05-26-2010, 02:26 PM
Try them both and see which you prefer. I've been using X series pedals for more than 15 years. They work great for me and I've had no problems contending with excessive float. That said, the odds are that a pair of Zeros will be perfectly adequate for your needs.

RADaines
05-26-2010, 02:36 PM
If you have knee problems the Xs are spring centering, so while having a lot of float the pedal will still try to move your foot into position. This could keep your knee agitated.

None of the Speedplay pedals are self-centering. This is one of the selling points.

straightegde
05-26-2010, 02:41 PM