PDA

View Full Version : Mavic Open Pro CD finish

bigman
05-24-2010, 09:39 PM
Anyone have any experience with these rims? Pros? Cons?

Thanks

maunahaole
05-24-2010, 09:56 PM
I have not ridden CD finish in an Open Pro, but have in other older rims. Personally, I do not think it is worth the extra money. It doesnt add any strength to the finished wheel. One of the fairly credible pages out there (which one it is is escaping me right now) states that the CD finish can help start stress risers and facilitates cracking. It is much more slippery on the brake track at first until you get it worn off and let the pads work on the metal.

thwart
05-24-2010, 09:57 PM
They look trés cool... but brake pads wear off the CD coating and they look less cool.

Especially if you ride in the rain and a little bit of grit gets under the pads...

tmessenger
05-24-2010, 10:26 PM
I've been riding a pair for about 6 years and they still look good and only a little of the coating has worn off of rear, no issues with braking for me but I'm in Iowa so no mountains to go down.

Tim

JonB
05-25-2010, 12:18 AM
As others said, the CD finish will wear off over the nipples so there's a patterned look to a used set. The world can see how much they've been used due to this. Some may like the look, like good worn in handlebar tape, but if you're the type that likes a clean, always new looking bicycle, look elsewhere.

WeakRider
05-25-2010, 02:55 AM
They are the best looking rims on the market, but, as others have mentioned, the finish on the braking surface does wear down. Personally, I use them on my track bike. It doesn't have a rear brake, and I rarely use my front one.

th_boone
05-25-2010, 05:59 AM
Love/hate for me. They are the best looking rims, period.