PDA

View Full Version : Fast for a dead guy...

Ti Designs
03-29-2005, 11:18 AM
In December of 1990 I got hit by a truck while riding my bike in Cambridge MA. I was taken to Cambridge Hospital where I was declaired dead. They then put 48 stitches in my leg and I left early the next morning. I didn't feel dead, but I'm not a doctor, nor have I ever been dead before that, so what do I know?

Death (or the paperwork that goes with it) can make living harder than it needs to be. I've had to explain to my bank many times that I'm no longer dead. The DMV just refused to renew my drivers license because I'm dead (they let everyone else in this state drive), and it appears that all of the dead people in Cambridge have joined the NRA (I thought that was kinda weird myself...).

There must be an upside to all of this. Why am I still paying taxes? Why should I have to race against the living? Why should I show up to work - none of the other dead guys do! Half the world doesn't belive I'm alive (the social security office, my bank, the DMV...) and half doesn't belive I'm dead (the police, the tax office, my boss...). I can't get the two sides to talk and figure out if I am indeed dead or not - I still don't feel dead... So now I'm filling out form #SS5 to get my social security number reinstated. There are 17 sections to this form, none of them say "check here if someone at the hospital screwed up".

Does this happend to anyone else?

Bruce K
03-29-2005, 11:31 AM
TiD-

That is definitely one for the books. Somehow, it is appropriate that this is happening here in Massachusetts where bing dead has never prevented anyone from voting.

Good luck with getting your life back. I can almost guarantee that the IRS will never give up on haunting you.