PDA

View Full Version : Quill stem bikes--handling?

sharky
01-25-2004, 06:22 AM
My quill stem bikes (all steel,and older) handle differently than my threadless setup bikes (alum, ti, carbon, and steel) and I was wondering if the threaded setup had any effect on the steering in your experience.

Kevin
01-25-2004, 06:39 AM
I always thought that the handling differences I experienced on quills and threadless was caused by the different frames and the ages of the frames I was riding. However, I have quills on old steel bikes and I have threadless on ti and ti/carbon combos. So I have no experience with comparing the quill vs threadless on the same frame material. It is an interesting question. I guess it is possible that the newer threadless stems are stiffer than the older quill stems and that this causes a difference in handling .

Kevin

saab2000
01-26-2004, 07:55 AM
I have a bike for which I had a threadless fork built. The reason for the new fork was poor handling with the original due to incorrect rake, but that is another story.

The new setup does handle differently, but that is likely to be almost all due to the new rake. What is different is that the new stem-fork combo seems to be significantly stiffer. That is neither good nor bad and I am not saying that the previous setup seemed to be inadequately stiff. But the new one with a Ritchey WCS stem in place of a Cinelli 1/A seems to be considerably more rigid, and this will have some minor effect on handling. I notice it it when climbing out of the saddle.

David Kirk
01-26-2004, 08:23 AM
I think you'll find that a threadless set up will have a bit sharper handling and a bit firmer feel to it.....it mostly due to the stems and how they attach to the fork. The reason is that with a quill set up the quill is fixed at the bottom in the steerer and is free to float a bit at the top of the steerer. It in effect pivots at the bottom where it is attached.