PDA

View Full Version : Hed C2 wheels-- sidewalls more vulnerable?

Daverino
04-28-2010, 11:58 AM
In considering a Hed wheelset with their C2 (wider) rims, I understand the rationale behind the wider rim. After tearing the sidewall on one of my Krylion carbons this past weekend (mounted on Ksyrium wheels), would a wider rim expose the sidewalls more to cuts/punctures?

I ride a lot of dirt roads, so it's a concern for me. Anyone with C2 rims notice more wear/cuts/punctures on the sidewalls?

Dave Wages
04-28-2010, 12:10 PM
I've been riding a pair of Ardennes for a couple months and no problems. If it does expose the sidewalls more, I doubt it's a measurable difference.

As for the ride, I'm sold. The closest thing to riding tubulars without getting out the glue.

jlwdm
04-28-2010, 12:25 PM
Dave:

There have been some reports of having trouble changing tires - tight. Have you had any problems? What tires do you use?

Jeff

dave thompson
04-28-2010, 01:29 PM
I've had my Bastogne wheels for 9 months now, no issues. I would posit the sidewall problems would be less on the wide rims compared to the narrow rims for two reasons; first the tire pressures are lower in the wide vs narrow rim which makes for a more puncture resistant object. Second a 23 tire on the HED rim is closer to the same rim width than the same tire on a narrow rim, thus the sidewall is more shielded/protected on the wide rim.

I've used Vittoria Open Corsa EVO, Continental GP4000 and Bontrager RaceLite tires on the HED wheels and in all cases I can remove and install the tires by hand.

Dave Wages
04-28-2010, 01:35 PM
I've only run one set of tires so far, but they're no tighter than any other rims I've used. Challenge Elite 23C tires so far, although they're a wide 23. I've got a set of Open Corsa CX 25's I'm saving for when those wear out!

dimsy
04-28-2010, 02:21 PM