PDA

View Full Version : Demo Day!!!!!

hookookadoo
04-23-2010, 06:34 AM
Going to my first demo day and plan to walk away with a new bike order or darn near close to that. I've been stewing over the new bike purchase for at least 1 1/2 years and have been hesitant because I don't want to buy something I've never ridden. Demo day solves that problem. Any tips on how I should approach demo day? I plan to take a notepad so I can record my thoughts for each bike but any other suggestions. There will be at least five manufacturers there but the one I am mainly interested is the Look frame.

For the record I am flying from North Carolina to California on Saturday afternoon just to do the demo day on Sunday. Can't believe I got a hall pass. :banana:

Lifelover
04-23-2010, 06:55 AM
Wow! That is a long way to fly to test a bike.

Good luck with the search.

dekindy
04-23-2010, 07:16 AM
Unless you take a significant ride on a bike, demo rides are not very productive as far as truly telling you which bike you will like best. 20-40 miles is recommended.

Also differences in wheels and tire inflation makes comparisions worthless.

You also need the proper stem length and seat post setback to be positioned properly on the bike for weight distribution purposes to know how it will handle.

At least if will be fun! Good luck!

ahumblecycler
04-23-2010, 07:23 AM
Have fun, keep an open mind, and don't be so determined to buy a bike. If the right one is there, you will know it. DO NOT SETTLE! I apologize for the all-caps, but I felt better writing it like that ... :banana:

Again, have fun!

jblande
04-23-2010, 07:48 AM
try to use the same wheels, or at least very similar ones, on all the bikes.

SEABREEZE
04-23-2010, 10:24 AM
Wow,when you make a stew, you really let it cook.

As another has sad, dont settle, and try to take a good long ride, especially on the one you are zeroing in on.

Best of luck, and enjoy your trip.

Hai H. Ho
04-23-2010, 11:17 AM