PDA

View Full Version : Expert needed - no experiance necessary

Ti Designs
03-06-2005, 06:22 PM
With all the complaints about how fitters don't know squat about bike design, I need to share my latest experiance - a Spinning class.

I took a Spinning class at a gym the other day and witnessed the worst fitting I've ever seen. The guy was trying to do his job as it was taught to him, but it was painful to watch. People get to class 15 minutes early so they get a Spinner that's not too rusty, and so they can be set up if they're new. The instructor then positions the saddle about an inch too high and sets the fore-aft adjustment so they can reach the bars. I asked the instructor if he wanted any help in setting her up, he said he was certified. I told him what I do for a living, he repeated that he was certified. Should it bother me that this woman rode a fixed gear bike with a 48 pound flywheel for an hour with the saddle too high and too far forward?

coylifut
03-06-2005, 06:39 PM
With all the complaints about how fitters don't know squat about bike design, I need to share my latest experiance - a Spinning class.

I took a Spinning class at a gym the other day and witnessed the worst fitting I've ever seen. The guy was trying to do his job as it was taught to him, but it was painful to watch. People get to class 15 minutes early so they get a Spinner that's not too rusty, and so they can be set up if they're new. The instructor then positions the saddle about an inch too high and sets the fore-aft adjustment so they can reach the bars. I asked the instructor if he wanted any help in setting her up, he said he was certified. I told him what I do for a living, he repeated that he was certified. Should it bother me that this woman rode a fixed gear bike with a 48 pound flywheel for an hour with the saddle too high and too far forward?