PDA

View Full Version : New saddle needed

roadie7
01-18-2010, 08:49 AM
Good Mornnig

I'd like some advice about saddles. I've been using a Terry male saddle for the last 8 years and have really liked it. The saddle is coming apart and I need a new one. I was wondering if someone could make a suggestion for a saddle.

Thanks

sg8357
01-18-2010, 08:56 AM
I believe the only answer that has been correct for the last 60 or so years is,

Brooks.

Plus you get to wear the Brooks t-shirt "My saddle weighs more than your frame"

Gilles Berthoud makes saddles now, worth a look.

dekindy
01-18-2010, 09:17 AM
If your current saddle is working fine, just replace and don't bother testing other saddles. It is unlikely you will fine anything better if your current saddle causes you no problems. I am assuming that you tried other saddles and settled on the one you have now. If you have only ridden your current saddle and made the best of it, then it would be a good idea to try other saddles.

If you have gradually changed over the years and need to find something better there are lots of places that offer free trials. Seek these out because buying saddles and selling them at a loss gets very expensive. It will take your personal experimentation and lots of adjusting on the saddles tested to find what is right for you.

Every year I seem to have the urge to try new saddles only to find that when I get hardened up my Aliante is the most comfortable of all.

If you tested Fizik's saddles, the Aliante and the Arione, you might be able to end your search there. Now there is also the Antares. LBS's have demo saddles. If you want a coutout saddle try the Selle Anatomica and the Selle SMP's. The Aliante is perfect for me and the Arione was the worst I have ever tried. Usually you are one or the other but not both and there is no in-between. I have sat on the Selle Anatomica and it seems comfortable but no extended test ride. If I can get down to Cincinnati I could try the Selle SMP.