PDA

View Full Version : How afaid of getting hurt are you?

207 cm
12-27-2009, 08:14 AM
Seems like every turn today is opted with "safety" choices.

How afraid of getting hurt are you?

SEABREEZE
12-27-2009, 08:46 AM
Let me put it to you this way, on one of the stages I watched Lance at the last TDF ALL OUT pedaling down the other side of a big climb, to the point he commented later, how bad the burn he had going on in his legs.
Perhaps others also remember that.

You have to have a big set of Cojone's, maybe when I was younger, yes, but
now, no thank you. One mistake or error, and they are picking up pices of you.

Any competitor willing to do that, has my respect.

ChuckK
12-27-2009, 08:59 AM

dekindy
12-27-2009, 09:00 AM
I have been riding again for 3 years now. Slowly but surely my riding buddies are having accidents that involve being off the bike for several weeks. Broken bones and concussions have been suffered from recreational riding accidents. I try to stay alert and in control as much as possible. I still draft in training rides and so far have had no accidents other that the occasional clipping out mishap.

nicrump
12-27-2009, 09:04 AM
worrying about bad stuff is like praying for it to happen. keep your energy on the + side of life.

John M
12-27-2009, 09:06 AM
As I get older, I get a bit more cautious. Almost two years ago, I went down hard on some wet pavement and suffered a scapula fracture and shoulder separation. Just 3 months later, I was hit by a car while commuting and separated the other shoulder. Admittedly one was completely out of my control, but with two younger children, I am bit freaked and worry about something worse happening. I still ride just as often, but a bit more tepidly.

csm
12-27-2009, 09:23 AM