PDA

View Full Version : Irresponsible rumor mongering

LegendRider
12-18-2009, 01:57 PM
I've been told that Litespeed is going out of business. Apparently it has to do with their inability to maintain financing for operations. I don't know if it is the American Bicycle Group or just Litespeed. Heck, I don't know if it's true but my source is a reliable Ootlewah local.

It sounds plausible. Ti sales have got to be down. My casual empiricism tells me far fewer people buy Litespeeds than 10 years ago. And, finally, tight lending standards by banks are a fact. So, again, this is a rumor - treat it as such.

dumbod
12-18-2009, 02:40 PM
I've been hearing rumors like this for a couple of years and it hasn't been true. Doesn't mean that it isn't true this time though. I can't say I'd be surprised. It's too bad, ti is a great material for bikes and Litespeed/Merlin make great bikes. I enjoy my carbon bike but the carbon craze is WAY over the top.

Pete Serotta
12-18-2009, 02:45 PM
Ti has come back (not to what it was 10 year ago) but Moots, Ericksen, Serotta, Spectrum are selling a fair amount AND it is a wonderful ride...

LegendRider
12-18-2009, 03:00 PM
Ti has come back (not to what it was 10 year ago) but Moots, Ericksen, Serotta, Spectrum are selling a fair amount AND it is a wonderful ride...

I'd love to know the total number of titanium frames Serotta has sold by year since the Legend was first introduced.

caleb
12-18-2009, 03:02 PM
If it's true, it's a shame. Litespeed is making great bikes right now. If they've failed it's because they haven't marketed themselves very well. Their website is useless and they haven't capitalized on the fetish for "craft", "artesian", and "handmade" in the same way that others have. I honestly think one good marketing guy with camera and internet skills could have turned the whole thing around.

Smiley
12-18-2009, 03:13 PM