PDA

View Full Version : speedplay

bob the nailer
11-23-2009, 08:57 PM
I am a long term look pedal user, first regular and then keos. Am getting tired finally of the squeaking and wearing out, and now they are making these awful keo grip cleats which i hate. Am thinking about switching to speedplays. Anyone make that switch and care to comment, and to which speedplay they switched?

jbrainin
11-23-2009, 09:06 PM
I've been using Speedplay X series pedals for the past 16 years and am totally satisfied with them. They are light, they are easy to engage/disengage (much easier than the Zeros) and they are built to last.

If coming from a more fixed pedal platform, you may wish to use the Zeros. They have less lateral motion (it's not really float) and will probably seem more similar to what you have used.

X series or Zeros (or Light Action), I suggest getting the stainless steel spindles. They have a slightly longer spindle and they will accommodate the new Vector power meter due to be released sometime early-ish next year.

rcnute
11-23-2009, 09:26 PM
I've enjoyed the X series and now use Frogs. I never cared for Look/Time/SPD.

Mike748
11-23-2009, 09:33 PM
I use the X-2's (stainless steel) on my road bikes and Frogs (also SS) on my MTB and tandem. I love the float and ease of clip in / clip out, as do my knees.

toasttoast
11-23-2009, 09:40 PM
not exactly the same, but:

i just went from SPD-SL to bebop. it's great. the lateral movement is disorienting at first, but you learn quick. main perk for me is being able to wear mountain shoes for errands, school, even full shifts at work sometimes.

SoCalSteve
11-23-2009, 10:22 PM
But, if your a big guy or spend lots of time out of the saddle or sprinting, you may find the unlimited float and small platform not to your liking...

I switched from Speedplay a few years back to SPD-SL (Dura Ace version 7810) and it was the best thing I ever did!

Just sayin'

Steve

Louis
11-23-2009, 10:29 PM