PDA

View Full Version : Serotta MTN Frames

mtnryder
11-17-2009, 09:44 AM
I used to work in a shop that sold and fit Serotta's, and was always drooling over a Serotta MTB frame built up with full XTR, etc. As I never had the money for one, however, I never followed through. Now that I am a productive (sort of) member of society, I have been thinking more and more about having a custom frame built for me. I used to race in college, and although I am both a road and mountain rider, I am much more into the mountain side of things. I just picked up a 2nd hand Colorado TG 56x frame and am excited to build it up and ride it as my first Serotta.

Is there anyone out there who has a Serotta TiMax frame, or any MTB frame and like it over a StumpJumper or CDale?? How does it handle the rough stuff; flex, stiffness?? I have an older Stumpjumper that I love to death, have been thinking of making the $6,000+ jump to a TiMax.

Help??? :confused:

Richard
11-17-2009, 10:06 AM
While my size is different from yours, I went from a Specialized Stumpy hard tail to a Serotta Odile and on to a newer Stumpy hard tail. For me the Stumpy is more fun to ride, both in races and for fast fun rides. I found that the Odile (same geo as a TiMax? I have no idea) handled spectacularly at speed IF you paid strict attention to it. If remember correctly it had a short wheelbase. That shortness seemed to preclude slower riding -- unless you were going fast enough to stay on top of terrain changes, it could feel a bit like a bucking horse. It had a Marzochi fork which was plush enough, but that might have contributed to the issue. Couldn't compare the rest of the geometry nor would I know what the differences meant.