PDA

View Full Version : Serotta MTN Frames

mtnryder
11-17-2009, 09:43 AM
I used to work in a shop that sold and fit Serotta's, and was always drooling over a Serotta MTB frame built up with full XTR, etc. As I never had the money for one, however, I never followed through. Now that I am a productive (sort of) member of society, I have been thinking more and more about having a custom frame built for me. I used to race in college, and although I am both a road and mountain rider, I am much more into the mountain side of things. I just picked up a 2nd hand Colorado TG 56x frame and am excited to build it up and ride it as my first Serotta.

Is there anyone out there who has a Serotta TiMax frame, or any MTB frame and like it over a StumpJumper or CDale?? I have an older Stumpjumper that I love to death, have been thinking of making the $6,000+ jump to a TiMax.

Help??? :confused:

victoryfactory
11-18-2009, 07:25 AM
I'm not a mountain biker but I recently got a Serotta ATX frame
(I think) and am in the process of building it up with new parts. So far I'm
thinking XTR der's, cassette and chain with off brand cranks (the XTR's are way
expensive) Avid single digit 7 brakes.
Haven't decided what to do about the front end yet.
I'm looking for old school (non disc) wheelset
to complete the package.

This frame is so cool.... level TT, ovalized DT, Colorado concept steel.
I am having a blast riding it around the city, and I am really amazed at how MTB
capable it is compared to a modern suspension rig, even without shocks.
I actually like it better than my previous dual suspension Tomac which I
found heavy, clumsy and cumbersome by comparison.

Here it is:

http://forums.thepaceline.net/showthread.php?t=66585

good luck
VF

jpw
11-18-2009, 07:59 AM