PDA

View Full Version : Lung Burn

rockdude
11-08-2009, 05:29 PM
I have a condition of my lungs burning and terrible coughing for days after I bike race. I don't get it from hard training rides, only when I go all out such as a race. Also, I never got it when I was a runner. The issue I am concerned about is that the coughing sometimes last for 5 or 6 days.

Anyone else have a similar problem? Or know how to prevent it? or know how to treat it?

Couch!!!

Cough!!!!

joelh
11-08-2009, 05:36 PM
I am NOT a doctor, so this may have no validity, but here goes. I have been having problems breathing and coughing when riding for about a year. I mentioned it to my doc during my last visit and he thinks it exercise induces asthma. He gave me a prescription for an inhaler and said to use it 30 min prior to riding. I have used it 2 or 3 times and can tell a difference.

It may be worth asking about the next time you visit your doc.

WayneJ
11-10-2009, 10:03 AM
I usually get "the burn" along with a nagging cough, but it only lasts for an hour or so.

CaptStash
11-10-2009, 10:07 AM
I am NOT a doctor, so this may have no validity, but here goes. I have been having problems breathing and coughing when riding for about a year. I mentioned it to my doc during my last visit and he thinks it exercise induces asthma. He gave me a prescription for an inhaler and said to use it 30 min prior to riding. I have used it 2 or 3 times and can tell a difference.

It may be worth asking about the next time you visit your doc.

X2

Sure sounds like exercise induced asthma to me. Very treatable with albuterol without side effects. Don't wait, go see the doctor. You may be unnecessarily hindering yourself without knowing it. You would be amazed at the difference a little additional O2 makes!

Good luck,

CaptStash....

stephenmarklay
11-10-2009, 10:22 AM
yep go to the DR.

gasman
11-10-2009, 10:36 AM