PDA

View Full Version : Another Shoe Thread

benissimo
11-04-2009, 04:22 PM
Sorry guys but another shoe. Just wanting to know if anyone has had any dealings with the following shoes,

http://www.rbcsport.com/

http://www.simmonscyclingshoes.com/

and lastly

http://www.bont.com/cycling/

Are there any other shoe companys like these out there.

Peter B
11-04-2009, 04:34 PM
D2 (http://www.d2shoe.com/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1)

54ny77
11-04-2009, 05:03 PM
why is it that most brands of custom cycling shoes have a unique way of being stupid expensive and butt ugly at the same time?

not sure of many other things in life that are "custom" that manage to marry such unique characteristics.... :rolleyes:

i'm sorry, this is not helpful to your question at hand. sorry for the thread drift... i have had no experience with most of the brands mentioned other than seriously looking into bont's and d2's, then the shimano custom moldable footbed thing, and finally ended up saving several hundred dollars and went with something off the shelf that works great on my fat feet. if you have unique foot characteristics that can only be solved via custom, then there you go.

benissimo
11-04-2009, 05:20 PM
Yeah not impressed with the D2 shoes don't know why.

54ny77
11-04-2009, 05:30 PM
on d2's, i read just as many rave reviews as those who complained of imperfect fit & sending back & forth (although good customer service). that black & yellow & white splotchy fabric that they were using (at the time) was just heinous looking. i don't care how strong & purpose-made it is.

one solution would be finding a mass production shoe that fits you well and go get a custom orthotic.

myself, i ended up with northwave's and a dr. scholl's thin gel insert. for me, it's magic. and about $500 cheaper than custom.

benissimo
11-04-2009, 06:19 PM
I have custom orthodics already and I can't find a shoe that doesn't make my foot ache especially on 6+hr training days.

cody.wms