PDA

View Full Version : Fixed gearing question

d_douglas
11-03-2009, 02:42 AM
I am going to buy a fixed cog for my Indy Fab SS MTB and I am wondering what cog I should buy. I will likely want to switch out this cog for a freewheel for offroad from time to time, so bear this in mind.

It has a 38t ring. I have never ridden a fixie and am not particularly fit nor strong. I just want ideas of a safe, moderate, basic gear with a 38t ring.

I am not sure if MTB geos will make a difference - I just mentioned that in case it did mean something to some of y'all.

Thanks for your feedback!

northbend
11-03-2009, 06:45 AM
where are you planning on riding - off road or city? What kind of hills will you encounter? I have no experience with off road so all I can suggest is what I used to apply for me on roads/paths not singletrack. Find a gear combination that will keep you comfortable spinning on level ground - using your existing geared bike, what gear combo do you spend the most time in while riding alone(you can use Sheldon Browns gear calculator to determine what your gearing would be with a different chainring size on your MTB) ? For me, that is around 70 gear inches or a 42x16 setup. I can live with that combo for hills and not feel like I spin out on the flats - good enough to do century rides like Flying wheels and RSVP. For you, a 38x15 would put you somewhere around 66 gear inches - that may be a good starting point for riding on the road if you are a bit apprehensive about your fitness level.

good luck

rustychisel
11-03-2009, 07:01 AM
agreed.

42x16 is about the perfect FG ratio, 38x15 just a touch lower

paczki
11-03-2009, 07:10 AM
That's a good gearing suggestion. As you learn to spin better, go up to an 18t. Remember with a fixed gear the work is in spinning fast down the hills more than climbing up them (at least for me).

OtayBW
11-03-2009, 07:31 AM