PDA

View Full Version : Question about crank length

cloudguy
10-13-2009, 12:52 AM
I need a new groupo after a crash, and I've come across a pretty good deal on craig's list for a brand new DA set with 172.5 cranks. Problem is I have a 30" inseam, which from what I've gathered on the net means I should ride 170.

How big of a deal is this 2.5 mm, in terms of fit, comfort, etc? Anyone notice a significant difference in knee pain?

p.s. I just checked my old cranks, and it turns out they are 172.5 too, so I guess what I'm asking is if I should keep this length or go down a size.

Thanks in advance.

-CG

soulspinner
10-13-2009, 05:28 AM
Buy and adjust to original seat height.

Pete Serotta
10-13-2009, 05:42 AM
Buy them and ride them....they will be fine. In theory the shorter crank will assist in spinning if you are a spinner and a long one is better for leverage.

The reason I say theory is that I am far from an expert but have used 172.5 and 175 and 170 over the years. My favorite is 172.5 with a 31 inch inseam.

Campy for their triples only offers 170 and 175. so I went with the 175.

You did not mention you were training for a special timed event or that you had any problems with your old crank so you should be fine.

rustychisel
10-13-2009, 06:17 AM
totally agree. If you're especially sensitive you may notice the difference for, oh, less than a week.

dancinkozmo
10-13-2009, 06:19 AM
...i dunno; ive got a 32" inseam and after trying 175 cranks , experienced sore knees after every ride. switched to shorter cranks and the soreness disapeared. i read in the Zinn book that the bigger circle you pedal through with longer cranks is more stressful on the knees.
that being said, i do have brittle knees... you're probably going to be okay with the 172's if youre younger and have good knees.

Ken Robb
10-13-2009, 07:29 AM
[QUOTE=cloudguy]

How big of a deal is this 2.5 mm, in terms of fit, comfort, etc? Anyone notice a significant difference in knee pain?