PDA

View Full Version : Disc brake help

gomez308
10-05-2009, 02:34 PM
I just bought a used Karate Monkey with Clim8 hyd disc brakes. I can't get the rub out. The front isn't too bad, but the back really drags. I've never used disc brakes before and I can't find any info online about these brakes. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

xjahx
10-05-2009, 04:28 PM
Gomez, a small amount of rub is almost always inevitable on disc brakes, but the expected amount should not greatly affect the ability of the wheel to spin freely.

There are two cuplrits:
1. Out of true rotors (either from damage or from warping under the heat of braking). To true a rotor, you can look for high or low spots and then use a tool such as these to bring it back to position. This can be done with the wheel mounted with the rubbing on the pads as a reference for high/low spots or on a truing stand with a guage (made by Park):

http://www.utahmountainbiking.com/shopmiva/images/Morningstar%20Tools/drumstix.jpg

The 3 tool based truing is preferred over the 1 tool based truing because it allows you to focus your force.

2. Pads need to be reset: To do this, you remove caliper from the mount and use a large, flat bladded screw driver (or Park specific tool) and press both pistons back into the caliper. Then, with the caliper and the wheel mounted, you spin the wheel as you begin to pull the lever. The calipers should be self centering (I do not know what this specific mount looks like), but you can also adjust caliper position with shims (washers) between the frame and the caliper.

I hope that this helps.

gdw
10-05-2009, 04:31 PM
The Clarks website has videos.
http://www.clarkscyclesystems.com/instruction_videos.php

Russity
10-05-2009, 04:35 PM
I don't know anything about the brakes themselves, but there are a few things you can try to remove the rub: